So I, like most people I know, would not really call myself a morning person. But, unlike most people I know, I kind of hate that about myself. The people I know who are morning people (all 2 of them I can think of off of the top of my head) are super impressive. Mornings are a great time to work out, read or write, contemplate the universe, watch the sun rise, etc. Morning people take advantage of the alone time they get before 7 or 8 AM, when the rest of us slothful humans can finally bring ourselves to drag our wretched bodies out of bed. They get up and go to the gym, or they go for runs before their kids get up, or they do work around the house so they don't have to do more when they get home from work. It's genius, it really is.
So, I've been working on getting up earlier. I still haven't mastered it quite yet, but I am saving a fortune on Starbucks coffee and breakfasts, even if I do just have yogurt, a bagel, or a bowl of cereal. What I do now is I get up at least an hour before I have to leave the house. I wake up, make some coffee, usually grab a bite to eat, watch The Daily Show from the night before, check my bank account and various bill payments to see what's been done. Basically, it's a relaxing but productive time for me.
So I want to say that I'm thankful for mornings. Since I've started getting up earlier, I've noticed that my days are better. In fact, on days when I sleep in, I'm usually hurried, tired, and irritated. Eating and having that coffee first thing after getting out of bed is a magical thing. Food tastes better, because I'm actually taking a little bit of time to enjoy it, and my stomach is completely empty after sleeping all night.
Of course, it's a trade-off. It makes staying up late much more difficult. But I find the hours after 10 or 11 PM much less appealing than those before 8AM. At night, I'm usually tired anyways, the sky is dark, and I just watch TV or lay in bed and read. Mornings, like I mentioned, tend to be more productive. So, this probably makes me sound a little older, but I'm over it. I'm working on becoming a true morning person, which I think requires that I first make some better health choices, especially where exercise is concerned. But, yeah. I dream of the day when I can get up at 5 without snoozing my alarm 12 times, and make the most out of my day.
Blogging in the AM might be a good first step. Hmm... Something to consider.
No comments:
Post a Comment